“Gone Swapping”

With Swaps like these who needs a department store…………?

Aysa won a pair of Michael Kors shoes

I must confess, if I wasn’t doing this challenge I doubt I would shop every month. However I’m certain I would end up picking up one or two items such as shoes or a blouse here and there. Considering the cost of such items I would spend way more money than the $5 or $10 fee to attend these swaps. This point is proven over and over to me as I continue to participate in these clothing swaps. Case in point. Last week Anika Alexander hosted Fashion Nite Out Clothing Swap at Eggspectation in Silver Spring, MD. With a small donation of $5, I walked away with 3 brand new items with the tags on them valued at over $150. A brand new pair of Old Navy Jeans $49.50, a black satin formal dress estimated $100 and a NY &Co sweater $25. Not to mention the gently worn items. 15 items total!!

A new Spring dress

Anika does a great job organizing these swaps. Not only does she give away prizes during the swaps she serves food, plays games with the guests and has a great personality to boot. Anika clearly has the support of her family and friends. Her mom and daughter are at every swap helping her set up and break everything down afterwards. Anika writes poetry and just came out with a new book of poetry. She is also in the process of planning a shoe swap in July. So for all you shoe lovers out there this event is highly recommended. Anika has been collecting shoes for the past several months and her stash has grown beyond belief. Sew Frugal will keep you updated as the date approaches.

Anika

Below you can see how much fun we all had at the swap. See ya next month my swappin sisters!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

