Long Weekend Sewing Refashioning Project

As I peruse the items at clothing swaps and merchandise at my local Goodwill and thrift stores I’m usually focused on finding a few new additions to my wardrobe. In recent visits I put more consideration into what can I refashion or restyle into something new and more creative. I usually choose items which don’t require a great deal of additional work but during a February swap I felt the desire to take on a bigger challenge.

Right now I’m prepping for my own personal “Sew In” over the Memorial Day weekend. The goal is to complete at least 3 sewing projects. None of them from scratch and all of them from recent Goodwill or Swap finds.

Below you will see several skirts I picked up at that swap back in February. All were size 22. You might say, Jen what are you thinking picking up size 22 skirts? Well, what caught my attention was the quality of the fabric, mostly wool, the colors and the interesting stitching and pleats. And wouldn’t you know it they are all from Talbots. I thought to myself what can I make from these beautiful skirts. Not a skirt for myself but definitely some beautiful jacket, top or tunic. I’m SEW excited about the treasures I’ve found. I can’t wait to take them apart and put them back together to create something unique and fun. Of course I will not wear any of these creations until the fall but knowing they will be there waiting for me is half the fun.

You will see my step by step progress over the next several weeks. I’m sew pumped about this sewing project!

20110520-030501.jpg

20110520-030443.jpg

20110520-030517.jpg

20110520-030451.jpg

20110520-030527.jpg

20110520-030536.jpg

Leave a Reply

