My review of Georgia Ave Thrift Store, DC

I must admit this one receives my “Pleasant Surprise” award. At first glance pulling into the parking lot I thought, this better not be another one of those “pseudo thrift stores”.  I walked into the store and saw how crowded it was and my 2nd thought was there must be some great bargains in here. Low and behold there were plenty. Mind you this store is not for the faint or weak of heart. The aisles are narrow, there are tons of clothing to look through, which can be daunting. Besides that the dressing rooms aren’t always open. All that aside everything is remarkably organized. Long dresses all together, short dresses together, pants, vests, skirts all separated. Everything is color coded and call ahead of time to find out which color tags are 50% off that day. I got lucky. For Memorial day all red tagged items were 1/2 off and green, blue and white tags were also 50% off. While shopping there a sales clerk made an announcement that a truck was 30 minutes away. Not sure if that meant items would be coming directly into the store or what. But shoppers were clearly excited about this announcement. I didn’t get the sense clothes were thoroughly cleaned or refreshed before going to the floor because afterwards I really needed to wash my hands. That being said as a rule of thumb I always take thrift items to the cleaners or put them in the wash before I bring them in the house. I strongly suggest you do the same.

Within the first 10 minutes of my arrival I found a 100% silk dress by Jones of New York, a Vintage 60’s dress and a navy blue and white striped off the shoulder long dress. All great finds. There was so much more to see. Overall you can find some interesting pieces at a good price but you would need to be mentally prepared to tackle this store.

Georgia Ave Thrift Store Located at 6101 Georgia Avenue Northwest Washington D.C., 20011 – (202) 291-4013 (thanks Kanisa LOL!!)

My thrift score 3 1/2 stars and remember call ahead. 🙂

20110531-102012.jpg

20110531-102029.jpg

20110531-102050.jpg

20110531-102108.jpg

20110531-102129.jpg

3 thoughts on “My review of Georgia Ave Thrift Store, DC

  1. Jen
    Thanks for this review! The last time I stopped by this store was years ago! Happy to hear we have another spot to leave behind some hard earned cash!

  2. Pingback: Thrift Shopping on the holiday « Sew Frugal & Fashionable

Leave a Reply

