Skirt Your Way to Becoming a Sewist

On Sunday afternoon the Silver Spring Sewing Sisters met for our Skirt Making Sewing class. We had 16 women participate in what ended up being a really fun and productive class. The ladies began by first selecting the fabric they wanted to use for the project. The next step was to take their waist, hip and skirt length measurements. Each student was provided a pattern in their size to work from. Once the pattern was cut out they began laying out their pattern pieces and fabric to begin cutting their skirts. Two and a half hours into the class most had their skirts cut out and were beginning to work on sewing side seams. After receiving a pressing instruction and detailed instructions for inserting elastic 4 students were ready to pose for the camera with only hemming left to complete. As you can see from the pics below the students had a great time and worked diligently to complete their projects.  I’m so proud of them and their progress. Their enthusiasm rejuvenates me each time we meet. Silver Spring Sewing Sisters Rock!

2 thoughts on “Skirt Your Way to Becoming a Sewist

  1. oh Jen! I wish you were here in Chicago. My mom has recently taken up sewing and could totally benefit from your amazing sessions. I don’t know how you do it all, but congrats!

    • Nubia, my blog should be called ” For Sanity Sake I Sew”. If it weren’t for sewing and these classes I would be pulling my hair out 🙂 Thanks!! Tell your mom Hi. I’m sew excited she is sewing.

Leave a Reply

