My Review: Black Eyed Susie, Washington, DC @BlckEyedSusieDC

Black Eyed Susie located at: 3443 14th Street NW, Washington DC

 

Anyone who knows me knows that Black Eyed Susie is by far my favorite consignment shop in DC. Ok I might be a little biased, after all we hosted an awesome clothing swap in May. However when you combine the great clothes, the cuteness of the shop, great prices and an owner who has the most warm and inviting personality imaginable you have all the makings of a fantastic consignment shop.

Susie and her sweet cat Cinder

What do I admire about the owner Susie Saadian? When you are shopping in her shop you feel as though you are the most important customer. Not everyone has that kind of natural warmth and kindness. She never grows weary when it comes to servicing her customers. She is truly one of a kind.

How adorable. I'm a sucka for a cute kitty.

Located in the Columbia Heights neighborhood, Black-Eyed Susie’s provides the community with affordable, gently used clothing and accessories for men and women. Black-Eyed Susie’s will provide an opportunity for individuals to buy and sell wearable, in-fashion and current with the trend clothing and accessories. (excerpted fromhttp://www.blackeyedsusiedc.com)

Black Eyed Susie accepts goods on consignment by appointment only. Call and schedule a time to stop by.

The counter has jewelry and other smaller items displayed

Plenty of jeans and slacks to select from

Susie started Black-Eyed Susie because she noticed a need for more clothing stores in the Columbia Heights area. She was very excited to see that in the same month that she opened two other clothing stores also opened. Check out her neighbors It’s Vintage Daring and The Fashion District. (I will be writing a review of It’s Vintage Darling in coming month)

When thinking of names her mother suggested ‘Black-Eyed Susie’ because like the wildflower, Black-Eyed Susan, Susie was a wild child.

Susie always features some fabulous find on the mannequin as you are walking into the store

Me and Susie the owner of Black Eyed Susie DC

The selection of clothing at Black-Eyed Susie is great. She has loads of blouses and tops for work and fun. She also carries great handbags and loads of shoes in a wide range of styles and sizes. You will certainly find something and take it home with you. I always do.

Lily purchased this very cool shirt @ Black Eyed Susie DC

The day I stopped by Susie was assisting a customer in her selection of a stylish yet functional bag she could use while bike riding. She even found some accessories to give it a little bling.

20110720-082540.jpg

A very happy customer

Be sure to stop by Black Eyed Susie for a fabulous shopping experience. You are sure to find a few items reasonably priced that you can take home and add to your wardrobe.

See ya soon Susie! I’m coming in to pick up this shirt 🙂 I have been eye balling it for a while now. I only hope its still there

6 thoughts on “My Review: Black Eyed Susie, Washington, DC @BlckEyedSusieDC

  1. Great review! I have driven by her shop countless times and have not stopped! Not so the next time I happen buy!!! Thanks so much for making vintage shopping so easy (um – perhaps not so much for how easily my money flies out of my chic vintage purse!!) Ha!

  2. Susie is like a personal shopper and a store owner all in one. She never hesitates to tell you when something looks bad, and she’s always right. What could be better? I’m so excited to have this store in my neighborhood!

  3. I just dropped by the store and met Susie the other day. You are so right – she’s such a warm person and makes you feel like you have known each other for years. I really enjoyed her store and will definitely be back.
    On another note – is that shirt you are eyeing DVF? If so, I saw it when I was there and thought, “oh, now that is going to make some woman very happy!”

Leave a Reply

