Refashioning Vintage for a friend

Once again Sew Frugal brings to you another refashioning project. If you have items you are interested in breathing new life into Sew Frugal and Fashionable is ready and willing to assist. We are in the process of developing our new website and updating our blog.  In addition, Silver Spring Sewing Sisters offers Sewing Classes which will help you through some of your sewing challenges. Check us out and keep your eyes peeled for our new look coming soon.

Last week after the Boozy Susie and Sew Frugal Refashioning event my friend Chris and I stopped by It’s Vintage Darling where Chris found and tried on this beautiful vintage Spanish cotton and lace dress. Don’t get me wrong, the dress was cute before the restyle but with a few minor changes can really become one fabulous dress.

I love refashioning and restyling because of the transformation a garment undergoes in the process. To me this is the ultimate sewing art-form. I currently have four items in the hopper to complete within the next two weeks. I’m SEW excited and anxious to show them to you. For now my first refashioning project for a friend.

Chris trying on the dress in the store "It's Vintage Darling" along with the shoes she picked up

Close up of the dress before getting started. the ruffle gives it an old fashion look and needs to go

I first began by removing the ruffles from the bodice of the dress

Used a seam ripper to remove the lace ruffle from the bodice

After removing both pieces of lace there was this odd rectangular panel left behind. Doesn't seem to serve a purpose so it's coming off too.

The next step was to remove the bottom three panels from the dress to create a shorter length

Removed the lower panels of the dress

The left over panels from the bottom of the dress. I then removed one row of lace and added it to the bottom of the dress as seen below.

It's coming along. Now for the collar and restitched the shoulders where the ruffle was attached

For the collar I used another row of lace from the bottom of the dress. Pleated it and attached it to the inside of the collar.

Lace pleated and pinned to the inside of the neckline

20110811-015345.jpg

Next I pinned the ruffle that was previously attached in a U-shape across the bodice and reattached it vertically to form a ruffle down the front. Also replaced the old ribbon with a new one for a belt

Before:

After:

 

6 thoughts on “Refashioning Vintage for a friend

  1. Awesome! Pretty dress before and fantastic, modern dress now. I read in your DC FABB introduction that you teach sewing classes. I’ve been trying to will myself to actually going to one. I would love how to sew/amend my clothes. You know, so I can save some cash. It’s like all that I learned from Home Ec during middle school was for nothing. lolol.

  2. Oh wow, I LOVE what you’ve done with that dress! The after is absolutely adorable. I’m a fellow DC FABBer and saw your intro post and came over here right away – refashioing is one of my favorite things to do, too! I also teach sewing (in DC) so we should definitely get together and talk sewing, refashioning & restyling! ~ Valerie

Leave a Reply

