Guest Blog post: Cashmere Sweater to Toddler Mittens

I get so excited when I connect with fellow bloggers who are sewing for a more frugal existence or just being frugal for frugal sake. I feel we are kindred spirits in a way. Some time ago Sew Frugal connected with Leila B of Three Dresses and we’ve been following each other ever since. I was thrilled when she agreed to write a guest blog post on such an adorable and not to mention frugal sewing project. Who knew mittens could be so quick and easy? These will make great gifts.

Enjoy!

I’ve always had a hard time letting go of clothes that didn’t fit or that I just didn’t wear anymore. Since having my two kids, I’ve started holding on to the really nice things we’ve bought or received for them that they can’t fit into.One case in point is this beautiful cashmere sweater- a size 18months. My son is 3 years old and almost as tall as his 4.5 year old sister. He’s not wearing this sweater but I love it and just can’t part with it.
20111005-122736.jpg

So, what do I do?

I placed the pattern pieces on the sweater and proceeded to cut them out.

20111005-122729.jpg

You follow by sewing the two thumb pieces together right sides together and then open the piece open and place it on the top hand piece.

20111005-122722.jpg

I went ahead and cut off the zipper and saved it for later. You never know when you’ll be able to use a little zipper.

20111005-122702.jpg

That left the rest of the ribbing of the sweater’s neck for me to make the casings for the wrist elastic. Once the casings were sewing down, you insert the elastic, sew one side down, followed by the other, and then sew up the rest of the front and back of the mittens.

20111005-122709.jpg

And you’re DONE! These mittens are so soft (love cashmere) and sewed up very easily.

20111005-122715.jpg

If you’d like to make these gloves, check out the Oliver + S: little things to sew book. I really like this quickie pattern. The directions are helpful and it’s a project you can get done in less than an hour- even with kids. The book also has the Cozy Winter Hood with little ears that I think I’m going to have to make for both my kids. So cute!

Thanks for having me here on the Sew Frugal and Fashionable blog. Feel free to follow me on twitter @lbreton. Besides sewing for my kids, I blog about dressmaking at Three Dresses Project

3 thoughts on “Guest Blog post: Cashmere Sweater to Toddler Mittens

  1. Pingback: Stacy Sews - Diary of a Fabric Junkie » Blog Archive » Linky Thursday

Leave a Reply

