Thrift Shopping on the holiday

What a wonderful thing to have a day off. What’s not so great is when you wake up with so many things on your plate you can’t figure out which one to do first. Well doing the fun things always seem to take precedent. What fun I had yesterday stopping by one of my favorite thrift stores “Georgia Ave Thrift”. Since I just started working on this  sweater project I thought it would be a good idea to pick up a few more sweaters.  On Monday all items that had blue or white tags were 50% off. I purchased 17 really beautiful sweaters. I used my will power and didn’t shop for anything else. I think I deserve a pat on the back. There were some really cute blazers and shoes lying around just waiting to go home with me :-).

For more information on Georgia Thrift shopping check out my previous blog post. Shopping at Georgia Thrift. This is a great place to shop. Just be prepared to be overwhelmed 🙂

After stopping by Georgia Thrift and Goodwill in Rockville I received a tip from one of the Silver Spring Sewing Sisters, Kanisa, who told me all merchandise was 50% for the Columbus Day weekend at Value Village Thrift!! Well why did she tell me that?? I called my girlfriend Serena and off to Value Village we went.

It was like Black Friday in this place. People were everywhere. To their credit every register was open and there were tons of workers on the floor picking up clothing that off the floor. Thank goodness because that makes for a mess. They were friendly courteous and although people were bumping into one another everyone seemed so focused on getting these good deals it didn’t really matter.

We quickly ran through the store looking for interesting items in the sweater section and then headed to the cashier. I asked the woman, “Is it always such a madhouse in here?” She said, “no, but on Monday’s and Thursday’s is 25% off and its pretty crowded”. That got me to thinking, I must bring my sewing class here. Those ladies are always looking for a deal. They will love this experience. We have a meetup planned in a few weeks. Join us: Sewing Sisters Love Thrifting

After this thrift shopping adventure my bill was only $44. The goal was to not go over $50 and I succeeded. Off to work I must go. I’ve got lots to do between now and the holiday’s.

20111011-172040.jpg

20111011-172100.jpg

20111011-172116.jpg

20111011-172131.jpg

20111011-172139.jpg

One thought on “Thrift Shopping on the holiday

Leave a Reply

