One year Anniversary of Silver Spring Sewing Society

I can honestly say that I owe a huge debt of gratitude to the members of Silver Spring Sewing Society (SSSS) for my current opinion of the DMV. You see after relocating to this area just three years ago I wanted nothing more than to return home to Chicago. I was the official “Debbie Downer” of the DC area. When I finally accepted the fact that I would live in this area for a I while I knew I had to take my DC lifestyle to another level. I realized that there was clearly something lacking in my life. About a year ago I stumbled across the website MeetUp.com and looked for Sewing Groups in the DC area. After successfully finding none I started the group Silver Spring Sewing Sisters and became the organizer. I had no idea what to expect. I’d hoped I would meet a few women in the area who were interested in sewing and they would then lead me to this community of underground seamstresses hidden somewhere beneath the political drumbeat of this town. Well that didn’t exactly happen.  What did happen is I found there were many people out there looking to find others with similar sewing interests to connect with. Who knew a year later we would be near 200 strong and have completed over 30 meet ups. Way to go SSSS!!

The women who are part of this group are spectacular. They are creative, funny, willing to take an artistic challenge and are excited about sewing. Who knew there were so many out there like me. I’m grateful they have hung on through the classes and have had fun learning. I love to tech sewing as it is an absolute rewarding experience when students complete a garment and they are proud to wear it. I’ve gained so much from teaching these classes up to and including a better appreciation for the DMV.

Last night SSSS celebrated our One Year Anniversary at Eggspectation in Silver Spring. Only a few of us gathered but we packed a lot of fun and two newbies showed up.

Ann. Kanisa, Xtine, Karla, Ericka, Sarah and Me

On this evening everyone wore something they either made or picked up at a thrift store. I’m often amazed at the creativity in this group and continually thankful for their enthusiasm and encouragement. We look forward to another year of Silver Spring Sewing Society.

One thought on “One year Anniversary of Silver Spring Sewing Society

  1. I looked awfully close at those pictures because my husband grew up in SS and I’m a very frugal sewer myself! What a nice group! I could’ve been a member but we moved from Washington, DC (12th & G, NE) and now live in Oregon. Happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

