Sweater project finally completed

The long-awaited project has been completed. In fact it was finished a week ago however being swamped with the many other facets of life I’ve been remiss in my blogging duties. In addition, I worked on this so quickly and was determined to complete it I didn’t take nearly enough photos to detail the process.

I decided to go with a Gray, Pink, Plum and one multi colored sweater for this project. I hand sewed the entire sweater. Surprisingly enough it didn’t take very long. I’ve learned one important lesson going through this project. You can’t move to quickly or else you will make a big mistake but creativity can turn a mistake into a work of art.

When I finally identified the base sweater, the one that fit me perfectly I decided it would be a great idea to cut off its sleeves. Boy did I initially regret that. Eventually I had to sew them back on. Next was figuring out which sweater would be the best contrast and blend into the lower panels.

My original pile of sweaters

I used the purple/plum v-neck sweater as my base. See here where I chopped the sleeves off. I used the gray and multi-colored sweater for the bottom panels.

I used a multicolored wool yarn to complement the colors in the sweater

Stitches on the front panel

hand-stitching the bell cuff to the sleeve

sleeve cuffs before attaching

Connecting the base sweater to the waistband and then to the lower panels

The collar, created from the front of a button down sweater. As you can see one side had the buttons and the other the holes

Waistband and cuffs came from a pink sweater

After cutting the sleeves off I figured out a way to re-attach them. Not too bad.

Finished product

I’ve already started on the second sweater. Pics coming in a few days.

2 thoughts on “Sweater project finally completed

Leave a Reply

