Zip and go Makeup Bags” – Who knew??

It’s always so funny to me when class doesn’t exactly turn out as you planned. A couple weeks ago we have a little mishap with the room then this week we are making these zip and go bags when half way through the project half the class decided they didn’t want a strap after all. Instead they wanted makeup bags. LOL!! It’s fine with me as long as they are happy and feel a sense of accomplishments. Whats even more hilarious. I decided I wanted a makeup bag too! I discarded the fabric I cut for the straps and sewed it up and was done with it.

We got started on time with a few instructions. Everyone was excited about inserting a zipper and since I am an unconventional seamstress I teach sewing in a zipper somewhat unconventionally. After receiving a few instructions the class went back to their seats and got started.

Yes that's me wearing my new refashioned sweater. And yes I sew standing up. Told you I was unconventional 🙂

Pretty intense faces huh? Easy goes it after this demo

Stephanie got right to it and was full steam ahead

Ericka working on her strap which she too tossed to the side

Here is Ann (AKA Speedy Gonzales Jr.) giving a little extra thought to the zipper placement

Kanisa had to leave early but she was able to get her zipper in and make it half way through the project before departing.

Sharaelle struggled a bit at the beginning but look at her smiling and with a great attitude the whole way through.

One last demo and the class is good to go

In the end 13 members of the Silver Spring Sewing Society made these great zipper bags turned make up bags

Stephanie with a big smile and totally cute bag

Xtine, did I mention she is "Speedy Gonzales"? She and Ann were neck and neck completing this project. You go gurls!!!

Andrea and her very snazzy Star Wars bag. Made from flannel Star Wars themed fabric.

Finished bags

Leave a Reply

