My Family…..A legacy continued

Good morning Sewists, Frugalistas and Vintage Lovers😘

I’d like to share with you a bit of my family history. My great grandmother, who I affectionately called Miss Moss, pictured on the far left was the eldest of 13 children.

Miss Moss made all the dresses for her sisters pictured above. Her couture dressmaking skills were the best I’ve ever seen in my life. I’m so fortunate to have had her as my first sewing teacher. She was kind and patient with me and helped to cultivate my love for sewing and designing. I know she is looking down feeling pleased that I am continuing her legacy by producing quality couture clothing. She paid particular attention to detail and didn’t stop until she got it right.

When I was nine years old I begged my mom and my grandmother to allow me to use the sewing machine. My persistence fell on deaf ears for everyone except Miss Moss. She allowed me to sit with her and pin fabrics to prepare for her to sew. I can remember how happy I was and how surprised she was at how quickly I picked up on her instructions. In a matter of weeks I went from threading her needles to pinning fabric to cutting patterns. The first summer I spent with her sewing I made my first pair of shorts and a skirt. From there the rest is history.


Her daughter my grandmother  (pictured above) was the epitome of style and grace. She was a seamstress as well however Miss Moss designed and sewed her beautiful dresses as well. I’ve come across some beautiful photos of her wearing some fabulous clothes. Oh how I wish I could peruse her closets.

Looking at these photos is so inspiring to me. It reinforces my love for vintage clothing as as my love for designing clothing. 👗

The legacy continues……

5 thoughts on “My Family…..A legacy continued

  1. Jenn, your l
    love for sewing inspired me greatly to learn to sew. May others be influence by your family tradition.

Leave a Reply

